Ministry of Buddha Sasana and Wayamba Development

"We warmly and repectfully welcome all of you who enter the new official website of the Ministry of Buddhasasana and Wayamba Development."

Sacred Areas

Under mentioned areas are identified as Sacred Areas,

  • Sacred places of important and of special significance.
  • Sacred places with provincial importance
  • Sacred places with archaeological aspects and historical values
  • On the basis of religious and social services rendered of provincial level by each historical sacred place.

Such sacred areas will be declared sacred place. Several areas declared by gazette notification under the Town and Country Planning Ordinance No 13 of 1946.

Accordingly financial assistance is granted for the development of sacred places on consideration of religioun. Archaelogical importance historical importance cultural importance, environmental importance and economical and social importance.

List of the Sacred Areas



Raharata Charika


Latest Video