The faces of Galle heritage will be new…

March 10th, 2023

The appointment of new members for the management board of the Galle Urumaya Foundation under the Ministry of Buddhasasana Religious and Cultural Affairs was done today (09) at the premises of the Galle Urumaya Foundation.

Dr. T.M.J.N Kure was appointed as the new chairman of Galle Urumaya Foundation and Mr. AH Anil Kumarasiri, Chamikara Pilapitiya, HK Balachandra, Professor Wijeratne Bohingamuwa were  appointed as new members of the Management Board.

Dr. T. M. J. N. Kure, who was appointed as the new chairman, explained the future plans of the Galle Heritage Foundation to the officials of the Ministry and other institutions who were present here.

Buddhasasana Minister of Religious and Cultural Affairs Mr. Vidura Wickramanayake said that the Galle Fort premises should not be restricted to foreign tourists only but should be done with local tourists and the youth community and use new technology to promote the area.

The future actions of Galle Urumaya Foundation and their problems were also discussed here. Additional Secretary (Development) Nishanthi Jayasinghe of the National Heritage Division, Director of the Ministry of Buddhism Dr. Prasad Ranasinghe, Director (Planning) of the National Heritage Division Somasiri Ekanayake, Chief Accountant R. T. K. Welivitage, Galle District Secretary Shanta Weerasinghe, Secretary to the Honorable Governor Dipika K. Gunaratne, Sunil Dahanayake, Director of Gallu Urumaya Foundation,Buddhist Religious and Cultural Affairs Minister Mr. Vidura Wickramanayake and a group of officials from a number of government institutions joined the occasion.